Home » Uncategorized » Wikipedia

Wikipedia

The theme this week on my Open University course is open educational resources.  I was surprised that our first activity was around Wikipedia as I guess expected to be looking more at open courseware and OER http://www.oercommons.org/ and http://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm (I do find it hard not to think of wine whenever I use this site).  But anyhoo we read a great article from the guardian by Nicholson Baker on editing wikipedia http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2008/apr/10/wikipedia.internet and I decided to bite the bullet and sign up for an editing account.

The sign up process was really easy.  Choose a user name and password enter the spam text phrase and away you go.  In my usual jump-in boots and all way of learning I immediately started to try to create a brand new page – which is currently under review.  I wouldn’t suggest doing that as I had to keep going back on the page to read the instructions.  I got there in the end but watching a few clips such as this one below advisable.  The review process can take a week or so so I’ll post the link here once it goes live.

 

Leave a Reply

